IUPUI University College 2011 Honors Ceremony

Indianapolis, IN (March 2011) – On Sunday, March 27, at 3:00 p.m. IUPUI University College will hold its annual Honors Ceremony at the Scottish Rite Cathedral. Over 475 freshman student scholars will pledge into the academic honor societies of Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta Sigma. The Chancellor’s Scholar, Lauren Hedlund, and Honorable Mentions will also be recognized.

The annual Honors Ceremony recognizes IUPUI freshmen students who have maintained at least a 3.5 grade point average for their first academic year. It honors these students and their families for their hard work and dedication to academics, school, and community service.

The student speaker for the event will be Cora J. Griffin, Bepko Scholar and SPEA major. Griffin has studied abroad in Germany and the UK. She has interned in Senator Lugar’s Washington, DC, office and in the Indianapolis mayor’s office. She is currently interning at the Indiana State House. Griffin is a former ALD president and current student advisor as well as Cass County Fair Queen and Indy 500 Festival Princess.

The guest speaker for the event is Jeffrey X. Watt, associate chair and associate professor of mathematical sciences in the School of Science. He holds degrees in geophysics, mathematics and math education, receiving his Ph.D. from Indiana University. He serves as a university consultant on K-12 mathematics for the Indiana Department of Education, and he works with the American Diploma Project to set learning outcome standards for high school algebra and graduation requirements. Watt’s work at IUPUI has resulted in improved student placement, improved counseling and better analysis of educational best practices. According to his faculty peers, he is at the forefront of initiative after initiative to improve learning. The Indiana Section of the Mathematical Association of America awarded Watt with the 2009 Distinguished University Teaching of Mathematics Award, the organization’s highest honor for a math educator. The designation recognizes Watt’s stellar record of teaching excellence and his contributions to promoting mathematics teaching and learning at IUPUI and across the state.

The ceremony will begin with a processional of all student scholars, followed by faculty and academic advisors in full regalia.

Music before and during the ceremony as well as at the reception will be provided by Dr. Monika Herzig of the IU School of Music at IUPUI.

Lisa Ruch, Honors College Assistant Director for Academic Affairs, has been the IUPUI Alpha Lambda Delta chapter advisor for the past fifteen years. She has served on the Alpha Lambda Delta executive council as the Alpha Lambda Delta National Vice President for Chapter Relations and Expansion.

For more information, contact the Division of Undergraduate Education Office of Communications at duecomm@iupui.edu.