IUPUI Employee Earns Carol D. Nathan Staff Council Scholarship

Indianapolis, IN (August 2011) — Shannon McCullough, IUPUI full-time employee and PhD student, was awarded the Carol D. Nathan Staff Council Scholarship for 2011-12. The one-year scholarship is awarded to an IUPUI employee working full-time while also pursuing a degree. 

McCullough is the Associate Director of the IUPUI Bepko Learning Center and is working toward her PhD in Higher Education and Student Affairs as well as working toward a minor in educational psychology through Indiana University. McCullough has worked at the Bepko Learning Center for six years and has been part of the PhD program for almost a year. She received her master’s degree in the same program in 2008. 

McCullough actually sat on the core committee that helped develop the eight standards of service with distinction which is a major part of the scholarship today. Because she was part of the initial, creating committee for the scholarship and the service with distinction idea, she knew she would be able to write the essay about what service with distinction meant to her as a professional and a student and what she believed it meant to University College. This essay is what won her the scholarship. 

“I knew because I was part of the focus group that helped develop the eight service standards and associated behaviors that I would be able to write a thoughtful essay,” said McCullough. 

The IUPUI Carol D. Nathan Staff Council Scholarship Award was established in honor of Carol D. Nathan, Dean of the Faculties (Retired), for her outstanding leadership and contributions to Staff Council and IUPUI. To be eligible for the scholarship you must be a full-time staff employee of IUPUI with at least two years of service; you must be pursuing your associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree at IUPUI; and you must have completed 12 credit hours at IUPUI with a GPA of at least 3.0. The total amount of the scholarship is $500; half will be awarded at the beginning of the fall and spring semester provided the recipient is currently enrolled for at least three credit hours.