University College: 2015 IUPUI Student Employment Supervisor of the Year

Indianapolis, IN (May 2015) – University College’s Office of Student Employment announced that the IUPUI Student Employee Supervisor of the Year award was received by Erika Huber, assistant director, Office of Academic Mentoring. In addition, Huber’s name was submitted to the Midwest Association of Student Employment Administrators (MASEA) and she won the Student Employment Supervisor of the Year award for the State of Indiana, as well as the Supervisor of the Year award for the entire Midwest region. The Student Employment Supervisor of the Year award on the regional level is new this year and includes 14 states within the Midwest region. 

Huber was nominated by Justin Rice of University College’s Bepko Learning Center. Rice’s nomination letter stated, “My supervisor is not one to micromanage students, but uplifts them to complete their responsibilities and tackle challenges. She trusts her mentors to not only complete their job, but go beyond it….She instills leadership values into every one of her mentors by exemplifying leadership.…She views each person on her team as a valuable asset and will always consider their idea no matter how big or small it is.…Her passion and compassion for her job, co-workers, and students is what drives her leadership to be what it is: innovative, developing, and maximizing.” 

IUPUI is a member of MASEA whose goals are to improve the professional services of administrators and counselors who assist postsecondary students in securing employment. The criteria for the Supervisor of the Year award are based on mentoring, professionalism, and excellent leadership. 

Huber was recognized at the annual Student Employee of the Year Awards Luncheon held this year at the University Tower Ballroom. The celebration lunch honored student employee and student supervisor nominees and winners for Student of the Year, Supervisor of the Year, Employee Team of the Year, Community Student Employee of the Year, and Community Employer Partner of the Year.